The Association

The North Carolina Community College Adult Educators Association (NCCCAEA) was formed in 1965 as the Community College Adult Educators of North Carolina. Full membership is open to full-time or part-time Continuing Education instructors, administrators, and support staff employed in the North Carolina Community College System. Associate and honorary memberships are also available. The purpose of the Association is to provide leadership for the advancement of adult education in North Carolina; to vigorously promote the concept of continued, lifelong learning for all citizens; to promote sound management practices in the areas of the adult education curriculum, instructor training, certification, accreditation, and permanent record-keeping; and to encourage quality work performance and professionalism by all adult educators.

NCCCAEA Presidents

Shelley White 2017 Asheville-Buncombe TCC
Jonathan Thill 2016 Montgomery CC
Suzanne Rohrbaugh 2015 Rockingham CC
Joy Callahan 2014 Johnston CC
Lou Stout 2013 Beaufort CC
David Lusk 2012 Pitt CC
Kathy Gardner 2011 Stanly CC
Perry Harker 2010 Carteret CC
Margaret Roberton 2009 Wayne CC
Sue Marion 2008 Forsyth Tech CC
Rob Everett 2007 Alamance CC
Fred Bayley 2006 Isothermal CC
Darrell Miller 2005 Wilkes CC
Carol Johnson 2003-2004 Mitchell CC
John Smith 2002-2003 Carteret CC
Floyd Horton 2001-2002 College of the Albemarle
Jimmy Lewis 2000-2001 Robeson CC
Jeanie Moore 1999-2000 Rowan-Cabarrus CC
Bill Adams 1998-1999 Davidson County CC
Vonnie Connor 1997-1998 Blue Ridge CC
Hans Aubuchon 1996-1997 NCCCS
Don Buie 1995-1996 Central Carolina CC
Suellyn Dalton 1994-1995 Alamance CC
Lamar Wommack 1993-1994 Western Piedmont CC
Kenneth Boham 1992-1993 Wake TCC
Calvin Dull 1991-1992 Wilkes CC
Hubert Bullard 1990-1991 Fayetteville TCC
Louise Fann 1989-1990 Sampson CC
Jim Chavis 1988-1989 Richmond CC
Larry Kepley 1987-1988 Davidson County CC
Wayne Eller 1986-1987 Randolph CC
Mike Reaves 1985-1986 Sampson CC
Jean Clayton 1984-1985 Asheville-Buncombe TCC
Joe Tolson 1983- 1984 Edgecombe CC
Lowell Speight 1982-1983 Guilford TCC
Tom Williams 1981-1982 Forsyth TCC
David Creech 1980-1981 Johnston CC
Grace Hodges 1979-1980 Central Carolina CC
Sam Tate 1978-1979 Catawba Valley CC
Don Cameron 1977-1978 Central Carolina CC
Jay Canter 1977-1978 DCC/Asheville/Area Coordinator
John Willis 1976-1977 Cape Fear CC
Jack Howard 1975-1976 Coastal Carolina CC
Archie Banks 1974-1975 Rockingham CC
Ed Cox 1973-1974 College of the Albemarle
Glen Fleeman 1973-1974 Forsyth TCC
Ray Shaw 1972-1973 Richmond CC
D. L. Furches 1971-1972 Sandhills CC
Dan Stallings 1970-1971 Caldwell CC&TI
W. L. Bryant 1969-1970 Fayetteville TCC
Paul Davis 1968-1969 Alamance CC
Ed Bright 1967-1968 Pitt CC
Jerome Worsley 1966-1967 Durham TCC
Fodie Hodges 1965-1966 Lenoir CC

The Constitution

10 1 14-REVISED-Constitution


10 1 14-REVISED-PoliciesProcedures


The Innovation Awards are the Association’s way of recognizing and rewarding creativity and innovation in course programming, management practice, communication, marketing, or customer service in Continuing Education programs.  The Innovation Awards are given out at each Fall conference.

The NCCCAEA Don Buie Outstanding Service Award recognizes an NCCCAEA member who has a long-term, exceptional record of service to the North Carolina Community College Adult Educators Association. This is a special award not given on any regular basis and only as circumstances merit. Nominees should be individuals who have made significant contributions to the NCCCAEA and adult education within the state of North Carolina. For more information click here.